How can I learn Python or AI programming

Hello everyone,

I’m relatively new to coding but have recently developed a strong interest in AI, especially custom GPTs. After 13 years with my current employer, I’m ready for a new challenge and would love to dive into coding, with a particular focus on AI.

Is Python the recommended programming language to start with? As a visual learner, I’m also looking for free online courses or tutorials that can help me get started. Does OpenAI offer any tutorial videos?

Currently, I’ve been experimenting with custom GPTs and creating scripts to simplify my day-to-day tasks at work, which has been incredibly beneficial. Although I can’t install Python on my work computer, I can use my personal laptop at home to practice coding.

Any advice or resources you could share to help me transition into this field and follow my passion would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

2 Likes

Yes. This is the main language for Machine Learning / AI stuff.

I don’t have any I would recommend for AI, but there is so much content on this forum you are almost certainly going to find the answer to any error or problem you get.

Python-wise, you can find tutorials on YouTube depending on your style of learning for simple projects, and ChatGPT can always help you :laughing:. I personally learned it by figuring out the basics and then experimenting from there.

The most common things you need to learn are variables, functions, and how to use libraries and some other basic commands such as print, and you can do basically anything with Python. It takes a small amount of time to learn, and then you have so much stuff you can do with it through libraries.

go to codecademy.com. They have tons of free stuff including Python and AI/ ChatGPT courses. Great courses for the most part and you get to learn while doing.

3 Likes

awesome thanks @williampferebee sounds like a great start.

1 Like