Can a complete coding n00b build an app with GPT-3?

Hi all,

Nervous to post this, but I’m a complete noob to programming and I want to learn. I’m looking for resources on building an app with GPT-3. Here’s my situation:

• Not a developer, though I’ve worked with devs for over a decade and written documentation for them
  • So I know what an API is
  • I’ve done introductory courses in Perl, Python, and a bit of Javascript, so I know basic programming concepts
  • Never built an app on my own before
  • Willing to work hard to learn how to do it

Are there any resources online for someone like me? I’m serious about wanting to learn the following:

• how to create a super basic front end (just for a proof of concept)
  • setting up a server and using it to store whatever data (I don’t even know what goes there)
  • training the model
  • handling authentication and account provisioning

I’ve been able to interact with the API from the command line, but that’s about it.

One idea I had is to ask one of my developer friends to coach/tutor me in this process. LMK if you think that’s my best option.

Thanks for not judging me :slight_smile: and for any resources you can provide.

Melanie

12 Likes

I am working from a similar background as yours, and am also not a dev. Poking around and asking questions, the low/no code application builder Bubble is what was suggested to me.

7 Likes

Thanks for mentioning and insights I still need to work a lot with saas101 and yes @melanie.seibert you should start working but if you are completely new and just wanted to put your product out fast as possible go with no code tools but have time use my repo as base and ask me any questions I help you

5 Likes