ChatGPT web client extremely slow responses for a week, with high cpu usage for chatGPT browser tab

The ChatGPT web client in US east coast has been painfully slow in responding for the last week, also oddly when responding the browser takes up huge amounts of CPU during the response mode. Of note this does not seem to effect the android application, which is responding very fast during the same time frame. I have done all of the browser fixes, cleared cache, restarted browser, logged out and in, tried different browsers etc., all to no avail. It’s really hard to use this for work at the moment. I have a basic subscription for a single user.
I was hoping it would resolve this week, and I do see some improvement, mostly not in speed but fewer error responses, but you will wait 5-7 minutes for a complete response, or you will have to refresh your browser tab, and CPU will spike during this time frame. This needs resolution in the quick term…

5 Likes

I have also checked my internet speed which is normal and very fast, I have tried with and without my company VPN running and seen no difference. I have used other intensive websites which render normally, and have tried both models, 3 and 4, the response delays and sluggishness are the unaffected by all of these variations

1 Like

Also have tried on 2 different machines, with no change in performance.

1 Like

I have been experiencing painfully slow responses with GPT 4 for the past week and it is not getting better. I have had responses take as long as an hour that would have taken seconds in the past. I have used multiple browsers, and multiple computers, with and without VPN and nothing is making a difference. Hoping this gets resolved soon as it has made a wonderful tool nearly unusable.

1 Like