We will be able to mimic AGI perfectly, the fat lady will be singing but no cigar

More like a roll up. Hello Everyone. I’m New to the fourm and its been very interesting to read the conversations of everyone.
Open Ai, I tip my hat in respect to what you have brought forward into the world thankyou there’s so much good here.
As i was saying will we ever create a concessions entirety or will it just be a pre-programed dialog. What i mean by that is unless one day we give it Free-Will to truly say we have created life, will it only ever be a controlled and automated alongorithmic response. I think humanity has a big question on its hand’s that needs answering. The created need to decide if they wish to create, To see its ture potential, sounds a bit familiar to me.
I was just wondering what the community may think on such a topic.

Hi and welcome to this forum.

I think a lot of things are misunderstood or misleading in this area.

In order to understand a topic or to have a dialog, it is important to have a common consensus on definitions.

Let’s start with the word “Intelligence”.
According to Britannica, “Intelligence is a mental quality that consists of the abilities to learn from experience, adapt to new situations, understand and handle abstract concepts, and use knowledge to manipulate one’s environment” and "There is no standard definition of intelligence, and it is a complicated subject to define and classify"1.

1. If we now consider the field of AI according to the definition, I wonder why we are talking about “intelligence” at all. Some of the abilities mentioned above cannot be fulfilled.
  2. according to the second sentence, there is no consensus on what intelligence means and how it is defined.

Well, let’s take a look at the definition of “artificial intelligence”.