New to the developer world. Eager to help and learn!

Hello! I am new to the world of developing, but I have been obsessed over chatGPT for about the last six months. I have become quite good at prompting, and have a knack for outside-the-box thinking. This seems to be an extremely important trait in the brave new world of LLMs. I am looking first and foremost to network and meet like-minded enthusiasts. Secondly, I am looking to make working with and developing AI solutions/integrations my new career path. I would love to find a team to work with, to aid one another, to learn and grow together. Above all, I’m looking to find those interested in elevating one another to new heights! Contact me if this interests you!

14 Likes

Probably best to specialize in one specific field/vertical and learn how to apply it to that. Making all kinds of examples.

Then it would be easier to get hired in that area since you’ve established yourself as an authority figure.

For example, eCommerce or medical diagnosis. The more specific the better.

6 Likes

I’d say Justin’s advice is pretty sound. I don’t think you need to be an authority figure per se, but I think you do need to become rapidly proficient, and the quickest way to do that is specialize, like he has mentioned.

I’d also add though, pick something that will have a broad set of problems for you to tackle so you can develop lots of mental tricks and tools to help you later in life. For example, I started in games development and that has a whole host of different things that let me constantly press my skills to the edge. Animations, graphics, physics, state machines, AI, etc…

And lastly, make sure to join open source projects and use github regularly. You want to build a portfolio that people can reference easily. I made the mistake of not doing that, made my journey 10 times more miserable than it needed to be.

2 Likes