Is there any way to set a defaut prompt "context/description" for every call?

Hello, this is my very first time using the OpenAI API (and am not much of a developer as is). I am making my first app which roughly speaking would have a user-input and a button, with the button sending the user’s inputted data to ai (HTTPS POST call) to parse and analyze and return a response. here’s an example of my case -

let’s say I need the AI to parse a JSON and multiply the value of a property called num by 10. The description of my query, which is “multiply the num value in the given JSON and return the product to me,” will remain the same everytime. However, the num value will be provided by the user through the app. The JSON and query descriptions can be more complex in reality, so providing the extensive context/instructions for each API call would quickly consume my tokens.

My api call would be like a one-off question, not a conversation/chat type request. i know i can use the completions model instead for one-off prompts, but 3.5 turbo chat completions is much cheaper and i’d like to go with it.

Is there any way in which i don’t have to give the 3-4 para context/parsing steps in each api call, and just like a reference to the steps along with the data? Again, i’m just trying to make a one-off request with some data and instructions. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks! :slight_smile:

The advice would be to add a 0 digit if an integer with a regex instead of asking a chatbot to attempt unreliable math.

Hello @_j, thanks for replying. the actual task is not 10n+5, it’s much more sophisticated and complex.

Why would you use a Large Language Model for that purpose?

Unless the json is incredibly irregular between requests, I imagine there are much better ways to parse it and get the number you need.