System Prompt ( Sending each time instead of once )

Hi, I am new to openAI API.
I am trying to make a script to help me create a long-form article.
Here is the process:
I provide 2000-word content via a text file about the topic and ask my script to use that information as a system prompt.

Next, I ask it to create a title and then a meta description.
Next, I ask you to grab the outline from a Txt file and process each heading one by one.So far, all is good.

Now, my problem is each time the script sends a request for writing title, mega, or headings … it also sends the full system prompt (2000 words) text for each request.

Is there a way to send the system prompt once at the beginning, and every time I ask for something to write, it will read from that first sent prompt?

Unfortunately not. You will have to send the full prompt along with every API call.

However, it sounds like you might be able to consolidate your tasks into a single request and just ask the model to return a title, meta description, etc. in one go. Have you tried that?

You have to send the prompt each time along side the call in order for the API to understand what is happening because 2 API calls are always independent of each other

Yeah, I try with one go … output is not good :frowning:
Can I send user input for the 2000-word context of the article in place of a system prompt and then use that same user input again and again?

I mean in claude.ai we can give a big doc and ask claude to use it again and again …

i mainly want to reduce the input token price :wink:

Ahhh, so how do other people build chatbots?? Do they have to send all the previous chats again and again ??

I have not used the Claude API myself but I doubt that the logic of the API call would be different? Are you talking about the API or the chat interface?

As for your question: the logic is the same independent of whether it is system or user prompt. You have to supply it with every API call.