Do I need to send prompt every time for a same task?

Hi,

I’m new to OpenAI API. I have a question about the completion API. If I have the same tasks that may have same prompt, but different questions, do I need to send prompt every time when I called the API? Can those prompts somehow store?

For example:

Prompt: tell me if it is an animal or a fruit.
Question: Apple

Response: fruit

Prompt: tell me if it is an animal or a fruit.
Question: Cat

Response: animal

Do I need to send this “Prompt: tell me if it is an animal or a fruit.” every time when I called the API?

Thanks for your time to answer my question!

Hi @link,

it depends on what model you are using and weather you consider using finetuning or embeddings to improve your use case. So if you are planning on scaling this up I’d advice to look this two solutions up and find out more about them.

Generally speaking however and using the regulare API @rajuroyal is right - there is no way and I think his advice to store the prompts in your Application is very good.

2 Likes

I thought there was a way in ChatGPT’s API to specify a running context such as:

"For all subsequent questions, assume the answer should be 
either animal or fruit."
2 Likes

Hi @bill.french,

each time you call the API you send over the whole context of the conversation, so the API doesn’t remember anything. You could specify the context as you mentioned but this will only be temporary and if you send a new API-Call this also will be resubmitted.

But what @rajuroyal could do and I believe what you’ve meant is that you can provide one prompt and then couple this with multiple Questions. But you’d have to put that all in one prompt

I see. Yes. But combined with LangChain, is this possible?