I need help with pricing please

Hi everyone

Apologies if this has been answered or is a stupid question.

I made a bot using the ChatGPT plus subscription tools. I work as an accountant consultant, and I’m thinking of offering this bot as a product to sell.

It isn’t quite stable enough and I read that if it was built within Open API, it could be configure better,

My issue is I ma confused about the cost. Do I pay to build the BOT or will I be billed based on the reponses the BOT gives when complete. It will need to be quite complex in its answers ie able to read and analyse spreadsheet data, but also base its answers solely on a knowledge base which are strict regulatory criteria (around 600 pages),
Does anyone have any advice on both cost effectiveness but also considering accuracy as the main driver.
Any further info on how Open APIs pricing system works will also be appreciated

Thanks

Dan

Hi Daniel

Welcome to the forum.

When using API you will be billed by everything you send and received from the API. The prices per units (1000 tokens) are here: Pricing

If your app will be using english language, consider 1 token is roughly 3/4 of a word (1000 tokens is roughly 700 words).

The only “bot” that you can make to share within ChatGPT Plus is a “GPT” (yes, I know, a poor name). It is exclusively sharable and runnable only within the accounts of others you share with that also have a ChatGPT Plus subscription. “Selling” it is without mechanism.

The creation of a GPT is not transferable to the API. They are different products.

The API has a similar agent that can run autonomously called “assistants”. You must provide your own services built around your own code. The costs of assistants are high and unpredictable due the iterative nature and the maximized use of context length for tokens, and you don’t get a report of the cost of a run. It is therefore not suitable for public-facing products.