Clarification Needed: GPT-6 Astra Was Announced for “All ChatGPT Plus Users,” but Plus Access Is Currently Limited to Work/Codex

Hello guys,and OPENAI,Now,I has some question:

I would like to ask OpenAI for a clear and direct clarification regarding GPT-6 Astra availability for ChatGPT Plus.

This is not a complaint about rollout speed, nor is it a comparison between GPT-6 Astra and GPT-5.6 Sol.

The issue is specifically the apparent discrepancy between OpenAI’s public launch announcement and the plan-level availability that is now documented for ChatGPT Plus.

What OpenAI originally announced

In the official GPT-6 Astra launch announcement, OpenAI stated that Astra would, over the coming days, become available to:

“all ChatGPT Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise users.”

The announcement did not state that Astra access for Plus would be limited to ChatGPT Work and Codex.

It also did not state that access to Astra in the standard Chat experience would require a Pro-tier subscription.

For a normal Plus subscriber, the natural interpretation of “available to all ChatGPT Plus users” is that GPT-6 Astra will become available as part of their ChatGPT Plus experience.

What the current documentation says

OpenAI’s current Help Center now describes a more specific—and materially narrower—availability structure:

  • GPT-6 Pro, powered by GPT-6 Astra, is available in standard Chat for Pro $100, Pro $200, Business, and Enterprise plans.

  • GPT-6 Pro is not included with ChatGPT Plus in standard Chat.

  • Plus plans instead include GPT-6 Astra in ChatGPT Work and Codex as rollout progresses.

Our own long-standing Plus account currently reflects exactly this distinction:

  • ChatGPT Work: GPT-6 Astra is already available.

  • Standard Chat: GPT-5.6 Sol remains the highest available model.

  • Codex: only GPT-5.6-series models are currently available at the time of testing.

Screenshots of the current account state are attached.

The account has maintained an active Plus subscription for years, with no account restrictions, suspensions, or policy warnings.

Therefore, this does not appear to be a subscription or account-standing issue.

The issue is not that Plus has received no Astra access

To be clear, we are not claiming that OpenAI has provided Plus users with no access to Astra at all.

Our account clearly has GPT-6 Astra access through Work.

The question is different:

Does Work/Codex-only access satisfy the reasonable meaning of the original announcement that GPT-6 Astra would become available to “all ChatGPT Plus users”?

For many Plus users, standard Chat and Work are not interchangeable product experiences.

Long-term users may have years of:

  • ongoing conversations;

  • saved memories;

  • project discussions;

  • creative collaboration;

  • research workflows;

  • established interaction preferences;

  • long-running conversational context.

These workflows are built around standard Chat.

Work is a different product surface with a different interaction model and a different purpose.

Therefore:

“GPT-6 Astra is available in Work”

is not necessarily equivalent, from the user’s perspective, to:

“GPT-6 Astra is available in the standard ChatGPT experience.”

The practical effect

Under the current implementation, a ChatGPT Plus subscriber who wants to use GPT-6 Astra is effectively required to move their work from standard Chat into Work.

We do not want to speculate about OpenAI’s internal motivation for this design.

There may be legitimate reasons involving:

  • capacity;

  • inference cost;

  • safety;

  • agentic capabilities;

  • product architecture;

  • staged rollout;

  • subscription-tier differentiation.

But regardless of the reason, the resulting product communication needs clarification.

If Astra access for Plus was always intended to mean Work and Codex only, then this limitation should have been stated clearly in the launch announcement.

If Astra access in standard Chat is still planned for Plus users, and Work simply received access earlier during a staged rollout, then that should also be stated clearly.

Why this matters

At present, two reasonable interpretations can be drawn from OpenAI’s own public materials.

Launch messaging:

GPT-6 Astra will become available to all ChatGPT Plus users.

Current detailed product documentation:

Plus receives Astra through Work and Codex, while Astra-powered GPT-6 Pro in standard Chat requires a higher-tier subscription.

That ambiguity matters because this is ultimately a question of product transparency and user trust.

When a major new model is announced for a subscription tier, customers should be able to determine whether that model is coming to the primary Chat experience they already use, or only to specific secondary product surfaces.

Questions for OpenAI

We would therefore appreciate direct answers to the following questions:

  1. Will ChatGPT Plus users eventually receive GPT-6 Astra in standard Chat?

  2. If yes, is the current Work/Codex-only availability for Plus merely a temporary stage of the rollout?

  3. If no, was the original statement that Astra would become available to “all ChatGPT Plus users” intended from the beginning to refer only to access through Work and Codex?

  4. If so, why was this product-surface limitation not stated in the original launch announcement?

  5. Will OpenAI update its launch announcement, pricing language, or Help Center documentation so that Plus customers can clearly understand where GPT-6 Astra is and is not included?

We are not asking OpenAI to speculate about an unannounced future product.

We are asking for clarification of an availability commitment that has already been publicly announced.

A clear and direct answer would resolve this ambiguity and help maintain trust between OpenAI and its paying users.

Hi!

You are essentially asking when Astra will be rolled out to all Plus users?

If that’s correct, then you should already have access.

I personally don’t see 6-astra in the ChatGPT Android app yet with a pro subscription for chat mode. It’s only available in Work mode.

My expectation is that this will be resolved with the next app update.

On the desktop app and in Codex, everything is working as expected.

They released GPT-6 Astra. Not ChatGPT-6.

Chat and GPT are different products.

The only thing announced is the codex work product. In plus, switch to work not chat and it should be there. If not it will be, it is rolling out to all users.

ChatGPT-6 has not been released yet.

Edit: Changed Chat wording in last sentence to ChatGPT-6 to eliminate the confusion between the app modes and product discussed here.

Here is what I know as someone who just upgraded to pro from plus.

GPT-6 is only available to plus uses in work or in codex. Not in the normal chat.

I just upgraded and GPT-6 pro is now also available in the chat

Yh, I feel this is what is currently true.

  • For Plus users: ChatGPT 6 Astra is only available in Work and Codex. Not in Chats.
  • For Pro users: ChatGPT 6 Astra is available in all three, which is Chats, Work and Codex.

I would have imagined ChatGPT 6 Astra would be available to Plus users in ChatGPT Chats in the same way that ChatGPT 5.6 Sol is with the max thinking level available for Plus users being High. But, this doesn’t seem to be case. It would be really nice and helpful if Plus users can get access to ChatGPT 6 Astra in ChatGPT Chats too.

Hopefully someone from the OpenAI team can see this message, and incorporate this for Plus users?

ChatGPT 6 Astra is a genuine real step up from the previous models. Really excited to see what can be achieved with it in terms of productivity.

@stee

This is actually a thing.
Here’s a screenshot from my ChatGPT app.
When I try to refer to the difference between ChatGPT and ChatGPT Work this is the reason why.

Or are you referring to something different entirely?

I’m glad I found this thread because this is exactly the clarification I’ve been trying to get from OpenAI as well.

I contacted Support directly and asked whether GPT-6 Astra is eventually planned for normal Chat on Plus, rather than only Work/Codex. The AI support system could confirm the current split, but it could not answer whether normal-Chat Astra is coming to Plus, so my question has now been escalated to a support specialist.

I think the distinction this thread raises is important. Saying Astra is available to Plus users is technically true if Work/Codex counts, but that is not the same product experience as having Astra in normal Chat — especially because Work/Codex uses a metered usage pool.

Hopefully we can get a direct answer: Is Work/Codex-only Astra the intended long-term Plus offering, or is normal-Chat access still planned for Plus?

I’ll post an update if Support gives me a concrete answer.

@VeitB

ChatGPT and GPT are not the same products.

Chat and Work are modes, that switch between these products. Codex is not ChatGPT. Work is the mode that uses GPT and new name? for codex.

In this thread people are discussing ChatGPT-6 Astra, the Chat product not being available in Chat mode.

Apparently for the highest tiers it is but not for Plus level or below, Yet.

It is same as previous models, GPT is released first to everyone then later, days or weeks ChatGPT becomes available to all tiers. Plus level getting it next then it becomes available down through Free accounts.

Yes, Chat Mode is a thing they recently added to split Chat from Codex, with Codex or GPT product put into its own mode called Work. I guess to let you know when they merged the separate apps into one, hey you people you want to get work done here is work mode and everything else here is Chat mode.

But you can get a lot of work done in Chat also, if you consider non-coding related things work which most humans do. Not everyone codes things or wants to, which really separates coders from everyone else in Ai developers eyes I guess. That is a different topic than this one though.

Note: I edited my previous comment, message to reduce confusion @VeitB response to me above was to the previous wording in that message.

Yes, OpenAI has a proven track record of being confusing with their product names.

What I am trying to convey is that, as a Pro subscriber, I do not have Astra in Chat mode on web or mobile. I only have it in Work mode and in Codex.

In the desktop app, everything is working as expected.

I have already pinged the team directly to find out whether this is intentional or simply part of the rollout.

@KrishnaV No GPT-6 or any GPT will never be part of chat. There is a confusion on products.

GPT = Codex and the same product found in the API. You may have more variety with the api version.

ChatGPT = Chat Bot product. The Chat version of the GPT product but is completely different set of models than GPT. Meant for different use case.

The ChatGPT, now pay attention to the Chat part of the name. Will be made available to All users, they just have not released to outside of Pro level tiers yet. Part of the reason may include each paid tier getting its own advanced access time with the newest products. Marketing thing for the higher paid tiers.

Reasons for it are hand wavy on my side of it but look at the previous roll outs and they all follow the same roll out structure. Higher tiers first, lower tiers eventually get it.

I did not know Pro has received it but they get all the toys first so they can tell the rest of it how great it is. LOL.

I am Plus level myself.

@VeitB Some Pro users say they do have ChatGPT-6 Astra in Chat mode. I don’t know what pro tier or even all pro tier subscribers have or do not have access to.

Plus users do not as of now.

I just know I am not editing my posts again to clarify. People can check their Chat mode model options to see what is or isn’t there.

OpenAi hasn’t mentioned the Chat product Astra version yet. Just the GPT version.

@stee I think there’s an important correction here.

OpenAI’s current documentation explicitly says GPT-6 Pro, powered by GPT-6 Astra, is rolling out in normal ChatGPT Chat for eligible higher-tier plans. So the idea that “GPT models will never be part of Chat” does not match OpenAI’s own documentation.

What is actually unclear is Plus access:

  • Plus currently gets Astra through Work and Codex.
  • Higher-tier plans are getting GPT-6 Pro powered by Astra in normal Chat.
  • OpenAI’s original Astra announcement broadly said Astra would become available to Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise users, but it did not clearly explain that Plus access would currently be limited to Work/Codex.

I’m not claiming Plus is guaranteed to get Astra in normal Chat later. That is exactly the question I’m trying to get clarified, and Support has escalated it to a specialist because the public documentation does not answer it.

So the factual question remains: Is Astra-powered normal Chat planned for Plus eventually, or is Work/Codex intended to be the only Astra access for Plus?

Until OpenAI answers that directly, saying Plus will definitely get it later is speculation.

@KrishnaV There is no mention I can find of ChatGPT-6 in the release notes.

https://help.openai.com/en/articles/6825453-chatgpt-release-notes

In the help documentation I could find about GPT-6 Astra located at the below link, there is only mention of the PRO version.

https://help.openai.com/en/articles/20001354-gpt-56-and-gpt-6-pro-in-chatgpt

Further down in that page it states Plus specifically does not have access to pro level models. This is referenced under the 5.6 version not Astra.

The key in that page is toward the top, in the following.

GPT‑6 Pro, powered by GPT‑6 Astra, is rolling out in ChatGPT for Pro $100, Pro $200, Business and Enterprise plans.

This is the first time I see reference to ChatGPT in relation to GPT-6 but you can see Pro is what they mean. This is either Codex or a Pro Chat model family.

The specifics to Plus account tier is in that same text block further down.

Plus plans include GPT‑6 Astra in ChatGPT Work and Codex as it rolls out. Rollout is gradual, and availability can differ between Chat, Work and Codex.

Chat is completely different from Work. As you and I know. They are saying the same thing and designating Plus is NOT currently getting the Chat version only Work and Codex.

This is symantecs because work is codex just outside the api and with more usage restrictions.

The interesting thing is they specifically took time to define and separate product availability from those two modes. One will not automatically get the others features or models.

As of now, they state Plus is not getting Chat mode version of GPT-6 Astra. As I read that statement.

The question you raise is will Plus ever in the future get the Chat version of GPT-6?

My speculation is yes. They are focusing on the pro version first like they have with the previous GPT-5 and ChatGPT-5 versions.

When support responds or a more clear statement is released I personally just look at the release notes that state what is out or changed. Since they do not mention Chat, I think whatever is available to non-plus plans is not relevant to me.

Your use of GPT and ChatGPT is being used uniformly to refer to the same product. This is confusing.

When GPT used by itself, that is codex or work mode product. I do have that version in my account. Under Work.

ChatGPT is not GPT. That is my confusion.

To eliminate further degradation from your posted question, I will just assume when you use GPT that you are referring to ChatGPT unless you state Codex or Work mode.

Thanks — I think we’re basically agreeing on the actual availability now.

The one terminology point I’d clarify is that OpenAI itself calls the normal Chat option “GPT-6 Pro, powered by GPT-6 Astra.” Their documentation also explicitly separates availability between Chat, Work, and Codex. So I don’t think “GPT = Codex/Work” and “ChatGPT = a completely different family of models” is quite how OpenAI is defining it.

The current situation seems much simpler:

  • Plus: Astra in Work and Codex.
  • Pro/higher eligible tiers: Astra in Work/Codex and GPT-6 Pro powered by Astra in Chat, subject to rollout.

And gospodindark’s experience is a useful real-world example of exactly that distinction: GPT-6 Pro was available in Chat while they had Pro, and after moving to Plus they currently have Astra in Work instead.

So I agree that the remaining question is the one we’ve narrowed this down to: will Plus eventually receive an Astra-powered option in normal Chat?

I hope the answer is yes, but until OpenAI says so directly, I don’t think we can assume it from previous rollouts. That’s the clarification I’m waiting for from Support.

My question as of now is astra fully deployed in plus plans for codex? I’m in canada is it here yet or their still rolling it out..? I stopped my plan until I was sure it was live.

I am on the Pro plan and did not get Astra on the web chat. I only have it in the Codex app.