ChatGPT Plus and Usage Limits

I have a ChatGPT Plus Subscription and today I started to create my own GPTs.

By doing so, I received this message: “You’ve reached the current usage cap for GPT-4, please try again after…” and a link to “Learn More”. When I follow this link, I find this information: “To give every Plus user a chance to try the model, we’re currently dynamically adjusting usage caps for GPT-4 as we learn more about demand and system performance.”

First of all, I wasn’t aware of the fact that there are limits for ChatGPT Plus Subscriptions. This was not clearly stated anywhere.

On your website (https://help.openai.com/en/articles/6950777-what-is-chatgpt-plus), which provides information about ChatGPT Plus, you don’t say a single word about any limits or restrictions.

Why are you unilaterally changing the contract terms? As a paying customer, I was not informed about this practice. Changing contract terms (e.g. varying limits) requires the customer’s consent - at least, that’s what European consumer protection law states (I’m a EU citizen).

How can I monitor current limits and how much I have already used? Finding out the limit just by trial and error is not particularly helpful. This is a very user-unfriendly practice.

If this limitation and intransparency persits, I ask myself: What’s the benefit of a ChatGPT Plus subscription or to put it this way: Why I am paying if I still have a limit of messages?

53 Likes

The usage cap of GPT4 is indicated in the GPT4 FAQ.

https://help.openai.com/en/articles/7102672-how-can-i-access-gpt-4

Thanks!

Two things:

1. Why this was not clearly stated when deciding for a subscription? And I’m not sure, if this regulation was already there when my subscription started last year.
  2. As I found out now, I have a limit of 40 messages per 3 hours. At the website you linked, it says 50. So, the statement on the website is practically worthless.
10 Likes

Yes. The information on the official website is meaningless.