Can (custom) GPT speak and respond via voice?

Hi Everyone!

I’m new to the community and I have limited programming experience. I was excited to see the new update where we can create a GPT with limited coding knowledge. I have begun creating GPTS on ChatGPT 3.5 on the Pro Plan using the new update.

I want to make a GPT where instead of having the user experience be typing out and having text based conversations, I want to have the conversation be able to happen with the GPT responding via voice and the user can also respond by voice.

Is there a way I can turn the GPTs responses to voice and also have the user respond via their voice and have the GPT respond via voice audio? So in short, I want to make the experience feel more like a natural conversation with someone rather than typing everything out.

Is there an easy way to do this? If so, how would one go about this?

2 Likes

Yes. It’s built in. If you are using the app all you need to do is press the headphone icon and it starts a continuous voice conversation.

It’s a little glitchy though, but that’s TTS engines in general.

If you are talking about API then yes, also possible. You just need to facilitate it yourself.

Opinion: You may want to consider something like Eleven Labs. They are kicking ass with TTS.

They offer a lot more control. You can create and tune your own model (can even use your own voice, I have David Attenborough as my personal assistant, it’s great!), it’s cheaper, there’s a vast library of available models, and they have some good prompting elements like SSML (I think it’s called) (it’s for pronunciation) and pausing.

1 Like

Do they offer streaming option as well? So no need to wait the end of the audio.

Yes, as @RonaldGRuckus said, if you download the app, you can just speak with your gpt. It’s an AMAZING experince!.