What are the top 3 pain points for plugin developers?

I’m curious, what do people think are the top 3 pain points for plugin developers? Is there anything that makes developing plugins difficult or time-consuming?

4 Likes

First off a bit of my background as it is not common among programmers. I have been programming for over 40 years and mostly in Prolog for the last ~5 years. I did work on production web sites around the turn of the century (remember this) but never really kept up to date with websites and front ends after leaving that line of work.

1. As someone who did not notice in the documentation that OpenAI and OpenAPI (which is not OpenAI API) are two different things that was a learning curve. novaphil pointed that out to me here, thanks.
  2. As someone who really never gave CORS much attention, learned about preflight and HTTP options method. Finding production working Prolog code of this took a bit of effort but did find some code that was quite beneficial for studying. (ref) Thanks Gavin Mendel-Gleason.
  3. AFAIK being the only one trying to create an SWI-Prolog plugin for ChatGPT. It is lonely on the bleeding edge. The best help I get is actually by prompting ChatGPT for information.
8 Likes

I realize it is an alpha product - and the potential is amazing

I think the main limiting factor at this point is not related to design/developing plugins but rather speed of execution. The end product inevitably is a proof of concept but not a practical project yet.

The second biggest pain point is that there are relatively few examples out there of completed plugins. If the underlying plugin definition files for plugins in the plugin store were available that would be immensely helpful for learning.

4 Likes

Definitely agree that most plugins are current proof of concepts and not full practical projects! Excited to see what individual developers, startups and big tech companies are able to accomplish to actually drive value.