Understanding how Models recognize Roman Numerals and Detect Questions

Hello,

I’m new to prompting and have a couple of questions regarding LLMs (Large Language Models) that I’m curious about. I’m hoping someone can provide some insights.

1. How do LLM models like GPT-3 understand and recognize Roman numeral numbers? I’ve noticed that when given an example like “I, II, II,” the model automatically completes the sequence. How does this happen?

2. When I provide a prompt containing a question, it appears that the model can recognize that I’m asking a question. Could someone explain how this works? Is there a specific way the model detects questions within the text?

I’d like to know how LLM works and I would greatly appreciate hearing from anyone who can shed some light on these questions.

Thank you for your time.

Why does ChatGPT answer questions even when there are none?

The answer: Fine-tuning and human evaluation reinforcement learning that is fed into the model, priming it not to commiserate about your day, but to answer the perceived question.

OpenAI has examples of doing these different tasks that shape the generation of output, numbering in the millions. Keep pressing thumbs up.

The result is as you see, a completion AI that has been transformed from just using its language knowledge to continue writing where you left off into a task-performing, instruction-following…and question-answering chatbot.

Untitled

It is the vast number of examples that let the AI know that after “the monkey at a”, the next likely word is “banana”. However, it is the fine-tuning that lets it know that after user input the AI answers a question.

AI also has ingested and been pretrained on tons of books, documents, papers, a good fraction of human knowledge, so that it not only follows the form of an outline where sections are numbered in roman numerals, but can even answer about them.

You can even ask AI to do some forum poster’s GRE test (with fat fingers).

Untitled