[Tutorial] Specific knowledge base + Open AI answering questions using it (for noobs)

Why the post?

I am a noob in python / programming / OpenAI, but after thinking and reading a lot I came up with a solution. Decided to provide the problem and steps here, with the intent of helping other noobs like me :slight_smile:

What I wanted to build:

User asks question in natural language, OpenAI searches for the answer in my own documents and return an answer to the user in natural language. Simple yet extremely powerful right?

First approach and problems: pass question + documents to OpenAI.

“So all I need is to send all of the documents + user question to OpenAI?”

Problems: This won’t work because the documents can be very long (500 pages long), which would become very expensive and would exceed the size limit of information that can be passed to OpenAI models.

Second approach and problems: Train/fine-tune a model with everything.

“So why don’t you train a model and fine-tune with everything? Just insert all of your documents during fine-tuning.”
Problems:

1. If I simply input the text, while the model would learn how the documents are written in terms of language. And unless I lose a looooot of time doing some sort of Q&A in fine-tuning, the model would still learn “mostly” the language.
  2. Imagine that my documents are 100*1000 pages long, but 99% of that is non-important. Training would be very expensive, unpractical and nothing could guarantee that when I ask a question OpenAI would “base” the answer on the relevant part.

Third approach (good one): Use “embedding” and summarize the documents.

So after understanding the ‘limitations’ of the previous approaches, I watched one trillion videos on Youtube and re-read the OpenAI documentation. Once I understood what is an embedding, I knew the answer was there.

What is an embedding and why is it useful?