Suggestions for perfect escaping of code with GPT?

So Im not completely sure how to go about it. But i do know when GPT writes code into a block in the chat its correct, but when it does so with the plugin… its hit or miss.

If anyone has any suggestions, im open. Else my only idea involves a chrome extension tied to the api server of the plugin to invoke the copy code to clipboard element.

Im quite new to coding so, Im not well versed on what might otherwise be a problem easily solved.

The enclosure of code that is used is a triple-backtick character element (three `) – at the upper-left of most keyboards.

a triple backtick is also how this forum detects a code block

This is one of several types of markdown. So in your plugin description, you can say “use markdown”, or “avoid code block markdown”, or “display as markdown”, or “no triple-backticks” to get better behavior.

So do you want a new friend?
Too late, you have one.
lol, but seriously i remember learning something about this, but ive only started in this scape about 5 months ago, and ive been shoving things into my brain as fast as i can.

I thank you sir.

1 Like

This is anecdotal, but I feel as though the model tends to do marginally better with code when I specify the language in the fencing. So, giving it some JavaScript I’ll write,

```javascript
// JavaScript code here...
```

This is just an old habit to ensure proper syntax highlighting where it is supported.

I’d need to do some actual tests to verify, but the theory i have which would support that idea is that, on average, the code available to the model which specifies the language in the markdown might be of marginally better quality than that code which does not.

ChatGPT also favors specifying the language itself (though it often gets it wrong—I see ruby a lot) which you can see in the header of the code block.

But, as I said, I’d need to come up with some kind of eval to gather empirical evidence.

2 Likes