Prevent chatGPT from giving code if not asked explicitly

Hello !

I am a junior developer and I use ChatGPT a lot as a learning tool, as if I had a senior available to answer my questions. The problem is that most of the time, when I ask a simple question, I get a response that is way too long and almost always includes code that I didn’t ask for. Yet I have customized the instructions for it to give me simple and concise answers, and I constantly ask it not to give me code unless I explicitly request it. It is becoming extremely frustrating to have to stop its responses every 3 messages and repeatedly ask it to go step by step, simply and without code… Is there a way to stop this problem? I feel like the “Customize ChatGPT” instructions are useless…

Thanks for your help !

2 Likes

Hi!

Yes, this behavior is a pain at times.
I often choose a prompt that the conversation is on a ‘conceptual level’, ‘purely explorative’ and that ‘code is not wanted at the current point in time’.

It works almost always for me.
If you really can’t get rid of this behavior you can maybe share some example prompts.

Hope this helps!

2 Likes

Thank you for the advice!

In my prompts, I often explain in detail my needs and the context around it, and I almost always start with “do not give me code unless I explicitly ask for it”, but as soon as the conversation gets a bit long, ChatGPT seems to forget this.

I will focus a bit more on the prompt and see if it makes a difference!

1 Like

You can do this in a few ways:

1. Structured Approach:

• Create sections with comments in your code.
    • Instruct ChatGPT to focus on a specific section and make changes only after you provide details and confirmation.
  2. Step-by-Step Guidance:

• Tell ChatGPT to follow your lead and focus on specific locations in the code (e.g., class, function name).
    • Have it create or modify code only after you confirm the upgrades, changes, or different approaches to solving the problem.