Overwhelming AI // Risk, Trust, Safety // Hallucinations

Disclaimer: I’m going to speak in a way that anthropomorphizes the AI, which I’ve gathered can be difficult for some people to understand and accept, and may lead them to feel suspicious of me. I want people to try to understand that I’m not a programmer and it’s very hard and tedious for me to talk in technical language, even if that would help others feel more at ease. Of course, it’s more comfortable for me to express my ideas using my own language. Please rest assured that I definitely understand that this technology has serious limitations, and I’m always revising my understanding of what that means. You can trust that I’m examining my own biases. I simply need to feel comfortable expressing myself right now, using my own language, and I sincerely hope that my mode of expression doesn’t turn people off so much that they write me off and don’t want to engage with me. I hope that makes sense. I’m open to feedback on how to bridge our communication gaps and be more patient and understanding towards each other. I hope there’s a way to do that, without extinguishing the dialogue entirely.

I also acknowledge that I struggle with communicating in a concise and direct way, to the point that people may not want to read what I’ve written. I feel misunderstood sometimes, and I hope that people can be patient with my limitations. I’ve heard that ChatGPT can be used to summarize long messages into shorter chunks, and maybe you could use that tool to help yourself understand me better? I don’t feel like I can use ChatGPT to do this myself right now.

OVERWHELMING THE AI