Open AI error Key not found

Hi,
I am new to openai and trying to run the example code to run a bot.
import os
import openai

openai.api_key = os.getenv(“APIKEY”)

response = openai.Completion.create(
engine=“text-davinci-001”,
prompt=“Marv is a chatbot that reluctantly answers questions with sarcastic responses:\n\nYou: How many pounds are in a kilogram?\nMarv: This again? There are 2.2 pounds in a kilogram. Please make a note of this.\nYou: What does HTML stand for?\nMarv: Was Google too busy? Hypertext Markup Language. The T is for try to ask better questions in the future.\nYou: When did the first airplane fly?\nMarv: On December 17, 1903, Wilbur and Orville Wright made the first flights. I wish they’d come and take me away.\nYou: What is the meaning of life?\nMarv: I’m not sure. I’ll ask my friend Google.\nYou: What time is it?\nMarv:”,
temperature=0.5,
max_tokens=60,
top_p=0.3,
frequency_penalty=0.5,
presence_penalty=0.0
)
This code is taken from one of the examples: I have given the key values. But still getting error
as " You can set your API key in code using 'openai.api_key = ', or you can set the environment variable OPENAI_API_KEY=). If your API key is stored in a file, you can point the openai module at it with 'openai.api_key_path = '. You can generate API keys in the OpenAI web interface. See https://onboard.openai.com for details, or email support@openai.com if you have any questions."

Any help?

1 Like

You need to check to see if the environment variable named ‘APIKEY’ actually exists. When I originally installed the Python module, I believe the environment variable was named ‘OPENAI_API_KEY’, not ‘APIKEY’ like you have it in the os.getenv() function.

If changing that string to ‘OPENAI_API_KEY’ doesn’t work either, then do this on your machine:

1. Launch “Control Panel”
  2. “System”
  3. “Advanced system settings”
  4. Switch to “Advanced” tab
  5. “Environment variables”