Model fine-tuning lessons learned

Hello, :wave:

I am attempting to fine-tune some models to have fun with various tasks. I’m a newb here so as you’d expect I found some surprising edges that took me a while to discover. I thought others and Google might benefit if I shared.

Following the Fine Tuning guide I got to the openai tools fine_tunes.prepare_data command. I quickly threw together a sample dataset to test it out and got the dreaded ERROR in read_any_format validator error:

❯ openai tools fine_tunes.prepare_data -f ./canadian-weather.jsonl
Analyzing...

ERROR in read_any_format validator: Your file `./canadian-weather.jsonl` does not appear to be in valid JSONL format. Please ensure your file is formatted as a valid JSONL file.

Aborting...%                                                  

Clearly I have a jsonl formatting issue and this will be trivial to fix, right? Yup! That’s what I said too, 90 minutes ago. :joy: Here’s the contents of my canadian-weather.jsonl file looks:

{"prompt": "How is the weather today? PROMPT_SEPARATOR", "completion": " I stuck my head out the window and froze my ears off. It's -20 degrees celcius, or -45 with the windchill! What did you expect in a Canadian winter, eh? STOPSTOP"}

I followed all the advice I could find on this forum, including this excellent post from @ruby_coder. I used every JSONL validator I could find. Triple checked the encoding was UTF-8. Tried full file paths. And kept reducing the file further and further until I couldn’t anymore.

None of this resolved the validation issue.

Did you spot the issue yet? :eyes::slightly_smiling_face:

If you guessed the file was too short, you are an excellent debugger! For those that just want to enjoy the show, I tried adding a second line to the file as follows: