Improve fine tuning by adding embedding

I am an experienced backend Python developer, but I am very new to AI/ML/LLM. I am building and application to classify emails into 1 of 14 categories. This will be used by a childcare facility to categorize, and in the future triage, incoming emails.

I have manually labeled about 600 emails using a number 1-14 for the completion, and then I have also used the OpenAI API to synthesize another 300 or so emails to round out some of the categories with low sample counts.

I have fine tuned 10 different models, mostly curie, with various inputs for n_epochs. I have also tried fine tuning them with just the manually labeled data, manual + synthetic data, and 1 that I fine tuned with manually labeled data followed by a fine tune run with the synthetic data(the results on this last one were terrible).

The results for a curie model that has been fine tuned with the full dataset at 2 epochs seems to have the best results, and for many topics it is fairly accurate at classification. It’s not quite where I want it though so I have 2 questions.

1. I read this post about fine tuning plus embedding. I have also watched several videos from the YouTube channel linked in that post. I now understand what embedding does, but I’m having a hard time understanding how to implement it. I know there is documentation, so I don’t expect anyone to hand-hold me through this, but I need some clarification. Can I use the same training dataset to create the embeddings? I tried adding embeddings to my fine-tuned curie model, but that model doesn’t support it. Does this mean that I will need to use 2 separate models, and therefor 2 separate API calls in order to use the fine tuned model and the model with embeddings? What would that look like? Call each and then find a way to reconcile any differences?