How would you write this jsonl file?

I’d like your advice. I am not an expert on jsonl. I want to be able to do semantic search and properly write a file. I have this large document and it has some structure. The navigation tree to the document looks like this.

INTRODUCTION
PREAMBLE
TITLE 1
—CHAPTER 1…n
------SECTION 1…n
---------ARTICLE 1…n
------------TEXT IN ARTICLE n

My concern is certain parts of the document do not follow that structure. On rare occasions I find this,

A title with articles:
TITLE n
—(empty)
------(empty)
---------ARTICLE n

A title with no sections:
TITLE n
—CHAPTER n
------(empty)
---------ARTICLE n

A title with no chapters:
TITLE n
—(empty)
------SECTION n
---------ARTICLE n

@dandrade.jose can you describe your task a little more? What are you searching for? Is the navigation tree structure part of the text itself, or just metadata?

1 Like

Hi @asabet Thanks for your attention.

It is metadata, but I’d like the information in the tree to be part of the text in a reply if it comes to that.

I’ll give you an example. Consider the following text, part of a transcription of the Constitution as it was inscribed by Jacob Shallus.

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America.

Article. I.

Section. 1.

All legislative Powers herein granted shall be vested in a Congress of the United States, which shall consist of a Senate and House of Representatives.

Possible user queries:

1: What does Article. I. Section. 1. says?
Response: All legislative Powers herein …

2: Where in our Constitution can I find references to the institution of the Congress of the United States?
Response:
Article. I. Section. 1.
Article. I. Section. 2.
Article. I. Section. 4.