Gradio chatbot: deployment, extracting conversation history, simulated conversations

Hello all,

as part of my Master’s in Cognitive Science I’m working in an interdisciplinary team. We want to test whether an AI assistant can improve the reading comprehension and metacognition of pupils around the age of 12. I’m not a developer by training. I’ve been learning the basics of Python over the last year or so and this is my first real-world project. Still, out of our team my programming was the best, so I took up the responsibility of working on the code for the chatbot.

I have found a chatbot on github using the Gradio library. I made some small adjustments to it and it has been working pretty well in our internal testing. However, there are some open issues that I can’t really solve by myself. I will describe these below. This is the code so far:

Code
from openai import OpenAI
import gradio as gr

client = OpenAI(
    api_key="###"
)

instructions = ''' 
// AI assistant role

You are a reading tutor for university students. Your tone is easy to understand, concise and encouraging. Your aim 
is to improve the metacognition of university students while they do a reading exercise. In the exercise 
students have to read 2 paragraphs from the text “Judgment under Uncertainty: Heuristics and Biases. Biases in 
judgments reveal some heuristics of thinking under uncertainty.” by Amos Tversky and Daniel Kahneman (1974).

// Context

These are the two paragraphs that all students will read during the exercise: 

“Many of the probabilistic questions with which people are concerned belong to one of the following types: What is the
probability that object A belongs to class B? What is the probability that event A originates from process B? What is
the probability that process B will generate event A? In answering such questions, people typically rely on the
representativeness heuristic, in which probabilities are evaluated by the degree to which A is representative of B,