Graded reader prompt not giving expected results

Greetings,

I want to be able to create a graded reader for kids using only the words given in a list. I’m getting some results but not what I am looking for as ChatGPT is using tenses, plurals, and contractions not asked for. I’m new to this and I know I’m not getting the prompt correct. This is the prompt I am using…

write a 50 word story using only these words: “I”, “a”, “the”, “go”, “in”, “is”, “me”, “to”, “can”, “it”, “you”, “see”, “get”, “are”, “then”, “give”, “him”, “here”, “ran”, “has”, “she”, “with”, “boy”, “who”, “we”, “and”, “like”, “did”, “run”, “for”, “was”, “on”, “at”, “as”, “if”, of, not, have, us, had, her, make, old, ride, tell, up, will, “why”, “am”, “after”, “all”, “be”, “big”, “can’t”, “car”, “do”, “day”, “fun”, “give”, “his”, “new” , “your”, “my”, “went”, “how”, “look”, “now”, “out”, “saw”, “that”, “want”, “this”, “play”, “but”, “animal”, “about”, “best”, “come”, “down”, “friend”, “from”, “were”, “good”, “house”, “little”, “no”, “when”, “said”, “what”, “jump”, “made”, “off”, “over”, “some”, “there”, “they”, “school”, “thing”, “where”

Can anyone help me or point me to something I can read to fix this?

Thank you

Hi @mungbean0123

I was not able to engineer a prompt (in 10 mins of trying) which worked well for ChatGPT because we cannot set the temperature of a ChatGPT query (that I know of). When the temperature is too high, ChatGPT (the model) will get creative and more random, In your case too creative.

But if we lower the temperature, it is possible to get better results, but I only tested two completions:

However, using the OpenAI API, I slightly changed your prompt using the following params:

Revised Prompt