Experiencing Different Image Quality in DALL-E 3 via ChatGPT vs. Direct API

Hello everyone,

I’ve been experimenting with DALL-E 3 for image generation and have noticed a significant difference in image quality when using it through ChatGPT compared to directly via the API. When I input the same, somewhat complex prompts directly into the API, the generated images often lack detail and are overly simplistic, sometimes even abstract and unrelated to the prompts. However, using the same prompts through ChatGPT yields fantastic results.

Attached are images generated from both ChatGPT and the API for comparison.

I’m quite new to this, so this might be a naive question, but I would greatly appreciate any help or insights. Here is the part of the code I’m using:

const response = await openai.images.generate({
      prompt,
      n: parseInt(amount, 10),
      size: resolution,

});

Thank you in advance for any assistance or guidance!

1 Like

here is the chatgpt image

same prompt with the API

The difference is:

ChatGPT has instructions of how to rewrite prompts that appear early in the conversation history. Then you continue having long conversations that alter how substantive those system message instructions are. GPT-4 is always used, as only when it is selected in ChatGPT can you generate images.

The API has its own AI that only rewrites prompts. The idea is presented as “we know what will make better images”, but there’s also lots of “we’ll change undesired stuff”. The instructions should be comparable, but are even more hidden. We don’t know what AI model OpenAI thought was up to the rewriting task in this case.

The last image almost seems like the AI failed. Invoked the DALL-E 3 function, but then produced some garbage that produced some garbage. DALL-E 3 usually makes something much more creative from even just random text, though.