Drive API accessing shared drive folders

Hi there.
I am very new to this, but I have been able to use the actions to have my GPT access my personal drive and at the very least list the files and folders it can find (the order of which I still need to sort out).
However, I am trying to have it access a shared drive folder. Even though I am using the auth/drive scope, and the folder location is shared with me, and even anyone with the link can view, the GPT cannot find any files or folders within this location.

I have tried offering the drive ID into the main code to be the primary folder to search within, as well as configuring the instructions of the GPT to only access this ID and all child folders.

It just seems to be that no matter what I try, the GPT has no knowledge of the contents of the folder… Thoughts? I feel like I am so close to cracking it.

Hey there and welcome to the community!

There could be a few reasons for why you’re having issues, but I’d also point out I have never heard of this being a successful method. Plus, if you’re using Google drive, I feel like they would intentionally prevent GPT access and force you to use
B̶a̶r̶d̶ Gemini.

That being said, the way folks do retrieve and handle documents is through retrieval augmented generation, or RAG for short. The assistant API also has a retrieval function you can use (and is going to be far easier than attempting to hoola-hoop through shared drive issues).

The biggest thing I suspect what’s going on is that you would likely need to download the data via code. A link to a shared drive item basically says “this is the location of the data!” not “Here’s the data!” GPTs cannot autonomously download contents unless the function itself is programmed to do so.

My recommendation is to use RAG or Assistant retrieval to provide more data. Either that, or work with local files. Both are achievable and depend on your use case.

EDIT: RAG example from OpenAI cookbook