Correct prompting to fill a table from a docx

Hi! Im quite new in chatGPT prompting and this is my task. I want chatGPT to help me in filling a table (i.e. a checklist table) that I can provide as template with some information that it has to retrieve from a docx (that is also provided as additional prompt of course). Is it possible to do it with some smart prompting in the chat? Thank you in advance!

1 Like

Hi!
This sounds doable.
Your aim is to have ChatGPT fill in a form (list with checkboxes) based on a provided document with information relevant to the form.

What have you tried and what are the challenges you need to overcome so far?
Also, which model are you using and can you share some more information about the size of the document and how extensive the checklist will be? Will the template be exact or do you intent to create a new checklist every time based on the document’s content?

2 Likes

So basically I have a docx regarding a project and I have also a table as docx to be filled. This is a sort of a checklist that I want to complete in order to check if the project has been written appropriately. I supplied the docx and the table and asked gpt4 to retrieve information according to the checkboxes inside the table and to create a new table using as basis the one I provided. But then the final table wasn’t exactly of the same structure of the original one because during the final docx creation it missed some fields even thought the final version was printed correctly on the chat.

Then I tried to ask gpt4 to use directly my table and fill the boxes but the process wasn’t accomplished correctly again. Almost the entire table remained empty in the end. Thank you very much!

2 Likes