ChatGPT got worse over the months?

I just wanted to open this thread to rant about how bad ChatGPT has become for me. No matter how detailed I wrote prompts and how strictly I set rules for a specific output, for example a character minimum or limit ChatGPT is unable to. Even when instructing ChatGPT to use the Code Interpreter. Or ChatGPT forgetting context I set up in the conversation. It’s not better with Custom GPTs or and the knowledge base. It’s very very disappointing and I’m asking myself whatfor I pay money. I started using Claude and I get better results there. I feel really dumb to pay for such quality of output tbh…

8 Likes

There is a similar thread on this issue. Have a look here:

And yes, I also noticed the issues you are describing. I have a ChatGPT Plus subscription and noticed the degrading quality of ChatGPT4 responses over time.

6 Likes

Yes, forgetting the last output of itself often, ChatGPT has become horrible.

Claude is like talking to a 8 yr old vs. talking to a 1 yr old for ChatGPT.

You have to really guide ChatGPT and hold back the urge to yell that they are like a toddler in contextual awareness of what they last did. Both sort of dumb vs. humans when you get detailed, but overall Claude is great and ChatGPT makes me wanna cuss it out (and I do).

1 Like

You know what, it had been happening since they announced the launch of ‘GPT-5’. There is a big possibility that OpenAI deliberately downgrade their ChatGPT4 in anticipation of the ‘Chat-GPT5’. Most probably, people who use chatGPT 4 only use for ‘daily use’ does not feel much difference. However, people like us who use ChatGPT for high-intensive brainpower, complex instruction and detailed, in-depth prompts for intellectual pursuits or any other endeavor will suffer. In addition, ChatGPT 4 still suffers from ‘calculation deficiency’

Here is the main thread:

1 Like