Can't get openai python package working... please help!

Hi! I’m a novice developer but was excited to try working with the OpenAI API. However I can’t even get the package working (not a great sign haha).

My steps:

1. I installed the openai package via pip3:

pip3 install openai

I received this message after installation in the terminal:

WARNING: The script openai is installed in ‘/Users/me/Library/Python/3.9/bin’ which is not on PATH. Consider adding this directory to PATH or, if you prefer to suppress this warning, use --no-warn-script-location.

I followed ChatGPT’s instructions (haha) to add that into my path by the following:
> nano ~/.bash_profile

And entered this:

export PATH="/Users/me/Library/Python/3.9/bin:$PATH"

Saved that file and then tried:

openai --help

Which produced this:

/Library/Developer/CommandLineTools/usr/bin/python3: can’t open file ‘/Users/me/Library/Python/3.9/lib/python/site-packages/openai/_openai_scripts.py’: [Errno 2] No such file or directory

Interestingly I can use e.g.: pip3 show openai, which shows this:

Name: openai
Version: 1.12.0
Summary: The official Python library for the openai API
Home-page:
Author:
Author-email: OpenAI support@openai.com
License:
Location: /Users/me/Library/Python/3.9/lib/python/site-packages
Requires: anyio, distro, httpx, pydantic, sniffio, tqdm, typing-extensions
Required-by:

Seeing this location in the show info, I also tried changing the PATH info to:

export PATH="/Users/me/Library/Python/3.9/lib/python/site-packages:$PATH"

But this didn’t work either.

I could really use some help getting this working!! Thank you so much.

These instructions are meant for Unix systems while your computer is clearly windows I’m dumb, this is Mac.

I know you’d prefer a simple “do this” answer but I highly recommend setting up a virutalenv. It’s very simple to setup and helps keep your code contained & easier for transport.

pip3 install virtualenv

virtualenv -p python3 ./my_openai_project