Are caps going up or down next week?

GPT-4 currently has a cap of 25 messages every 3 hours. Expect lower cap next week, as we adjust for demand.

GPT-4 seems to think we are going to get even stricter caps next week, my gut is on this being a miss-phrasing of sorts.

5 Likes

While I’d love for higher caps, I suspect when they say “lower” they mean “lower”, especially considering that we had 100 every 4 hours yesterday, and are down to 25 every 3 now. It’s very possible that demand via the GPT-4 API is eating up compute on the server side, so they’re throttling the ChatGPT interface to make room for the API users. Just my conjecture, though. I’d welcome an official answer :slight_smile:

3 Likes

I find the cap of 25 messages per 3 hours to be too low for a paid service. As a developer, I need to use it often, and 25 messages just don’t cut it.

In my opinion, anything lower than 40 messages each 3 hours is not acceptable for a paid service like this. It’s frustrating.

Another issue I’ve noticed is that the system doesn’t display how many requests you’ve made in the last X hours. This is a malicious practice and makes it difficult for users to manage their usage effectively.

I hope that we can all voice our concerns about these issues and push for a reasonable change in the cap limit and transparency in usage monitoring.

Thanks

10 Likes

The difference in quality between 3.5 and 4 is clear, which makes this change very disappointing. I get it; this is a sneak preview, but returning to 3.5 feels bad after you’ve used 4. It’s on par with using a car to travel 50 miles one day and then having to go back to riding a bike for that same 50 miles. Sure, they didn’t promise you the car, but it’s hard to get excited about riding a bike again. 3.5 is better than walking, but that doesn’t make this feel good.

4 Likes

I don’t know if it is me, but I find GPT-4 dumber on more complicated problems or even simple but less common ones such as PCR primer design.