About the content we have written to Artificial Intelligence with GPT

Hello,

If we use the poems that we have written to artificial intelligence with GPT in our poetry book, will it cause any copyright problems?

Does anyone know who can help me with this question?

A lawyer would say this isnā€™t settled law. And the law concerning AI-generated products is also shaping up differently in different countries.

And I am not a lawyer, and this isnā€™t legal advice, but I think this question will shake out in this way.

Question 1: Can you use GPT, which trained on some copywritten material, to produce material for your book?

A: Yes, but the output has to obey fair use ā€“ any copywritten quotes need to be short, built into a larger original work, and this work cannot undermine the market value of the original copywritten material. For poetry, this isnā€™t a problem as long as your work is original ā€“ GPT only spits out short snippets of things, even when the prompt is of a famous poem.

There are cases where AI-generated output violates fair use. For instance, many people are using illustrator Greg Rutkowski as a prompt for Stable Diffusionā€™s AI generated art. Now, if you search for Mr. Rutkowskiā€™s work on the web, you will find these knock offs AI generated art creations, but which bury Mr. Rutkowskiā€™s work. This AI-based usage degrades the market value of his work, so violates fair use. Mr. Rutkowski needs a way of opting out from the model. (Mind you, other lesser know artists might want to opt in in order to create a buzz, so thereā€™s no one-size-fits-all on this).

Please see: [This artist is dominating AI-generated art. And heā€™s not happy about it. | MIT Technology Review](https://Technology Review - This artist is dominating AI-generated art. And heā€™s not happy about it.)

Question 2: Having generated a book of poetry using AI, can I copyright it?