Which is best model for job-to-resume matching project?

Hi -

I’m a developer who has used GPT-4’s API from Python some. I work for an online marketplace site for finding (matching), hiring, onboarding, and managing freelance IT professionals (“Talent”) with those who need to hire them (“Hiring Clients”).

In a nut shell: we envision a Hiring Client pasting their page of Job Description text into a field, our site using either a model’s API to come up with the 5 best matching resumes.

Part of this whole process means getting tens of thousands (later x10 that number) of resumes into our model.

Right now the plan is to create a working proof of concept (“POC”) using only 1000 resumes.

As I plan this POC project, it would benefit us greatly to know the following:

• Which of OpenAI’s models would best suit our needs to build this? We are confident that we will later need Enterprise but for this quick POC, we want to know if 3.5-Turbo, fine-tuned, would best suit our needs?
  • Does your GPT-4 Enterprise solution NOW allow us to fine-tune and/or add tens of thousands of resumes?
  • Any other ideas or recommendations?

Sincerely,
Scott Swain

Hi Scott,

You could embed your list of resumes in a vector DB and then perform a search on that with a requirements list from the client, that would pull back, lets say the top 30 matching entries, then you could pass each one of those to the GPT-4 model for it to decide on a match, you would have to perform some processing of the resumes so that they can be split into approximately 8000 token blocks and for each block to have a meta header to ensure that related embeddings are kept associated with one another, it will certainly require some problem solving, but it seems like a doable project with some time and effort.

1 Like

Hey Foxabilo -
Thanks for taking the time to share that plan/idea!