What is the best way to teach a GPT model a new scripting language?

I have a product that allows a caller to use a simple scripting language to model a financial transaction, perform calculations on the model, and query the results.

My goal is to hook this up to GPT-4 using a Plugin or Function Call and have GPT-4 write ad hoc scripts that return whatever information GPT-4 requires in service to some goal. Ideally, I’d like the model to become an expert in writing scripts, just like it can write programs in other computer languages.

I’ve experimented with Plugins and adding instructions and scripting examples at the start of my prompt and been amazed at how well GPT-4 is able to generalize and write some simple scripts. However, trying to describe the entire scripting language with examples would quickly use up the context so I’m wondering if fine-tuning one of the other OpenAI models is possible and would that give me good or better results.

I have no experience with fine-tuning other than watching YouTube videos, so any advice on best practices is appreciated. Also, please let me know if there’s a better way to go that I’m not considering. thx!

2 Likes

First, give chat.openai.com a try with selecting GPT-4 or use playground. This will give you an idea of how the system learns. Afterwards, you can choose to use chat context or fine-tune the model according to your needs.

Fine tunings models to perform new tasks is exactly what it’s design for, but the act of fine tuning and making it a success is a hugely complex area.

It should also be noted that current “chat” models such as GPT-3.5-Turbo and GPT-4 do not have a fine tuning ability, so the task becomes even more complex, what you ask can be achieved but it is involved and will require considerable effort to be put in.