What exactly and technically happens with fine-tuning?

Hi, all.
I am working with a university professor on a thesis project in which I fine-tune GPT-3 to answer doctrinal questions in a religious domain. The questions came up:
What exactly happens to GPT-3 during fine-tuning? E.g., are all the weights updated? Or only a subset of them? How are they updated? In a way similar to how the model was initially trained? Or differently? With the same optimization schema, but different hyperparameters? Or in some other way?

I’ve read through as much documentation I can find but don’t have a complete, satisfactory answer. I wonder if someone could point me in the right direction.

Thank you!

8 Likes

If I had to guess I would say it’s a classic case of Transfer Learning.

I’m not an expert, so please take this with a grain of salt, but based on my experience working with OpenAI’s CLIP, fine-tuning pre-trained OpenAI models works via linear probing. Linear probing is a technique where you take the second-to-last layer of a NN (so the layer before the output layer) and further tune the weights from the base model using your datasets.

Looking at the request body for the OpenAI API for fine-tuning, it seems you could also update the hyperparameters if you wanted to, although I’m not sure if that applies to the training done on the base model, the additional layer tuned, or both.

I’ve also been looking for a more thorough answer, so please share if you find it!

3 Likes

Total admitted rube here, but instinctually your suggestion that the tuning impacts the second to last layer suggests a certain level of superficiality in tuned models, a concept which piqued my curiosity. If you can refer me to a resource that talks about NN or the other ideas you referred to I would be appreciative.

1 Like

I’ve dealt with OpenAI advisors before. Their response was that ALL the weights are updated during fine-tuning, not just the final layers.