Teaching OpenAI API with new data

I am using OpenAI API for to help me search through a large amount of data (text). Based ONLY off of the data that I am passing into the system parameter, I want a response generated. Does anyone have suggestions on how to do this for optimization? Do I have to pass in the data each time? By the way, I have the data in a MySQL DB. I am concatenating the data in the columns into one LARGE string and passing it in with additional instructions saying “Only answer based off this information…”. Anyone have any solutions to this?

Usually you correlate the input to data in your system. Then only feed this correlated data to the System/Input for the LLM to answer from.

This is call RAG or Retrieval Augmented Generation.

Whenever you are using a DB, I am thinking you are a serious user. Please consider function calling which I used for my application.

@curt.kennedy Can you please elaborate? I’m just a computer science student.

I’ve seen others use LangChain. Would you say this source is reliable?

Sure, I would start by understanding this classic Cookbook from OpenAI.

But in general, you use embeddings (from AI models) or keywords, or both combined, to “retrieve” text chunks that are relevant, and present them for the LLM to use as information to answer the input query, along with previous back-and-forth history with the user.

Embeddings are vectors from certain AI models. Each chunk of text gets a vector assigned. This vector is a set of numbers that give the chunk of text a numerical meaning.

Keywords are generated based on some information theoretic rarity index. (not necessarily AI based). So rare words have more information than common words. And this search is optimized by intersecting the most rare words with the user query that also matches the rare words in your text chunks.