Share: Fine-Tune GPT 3.5 16k Results Only 10 Examples Novel Outlines

Hi everyone!
I’m an author who has suddenly found herself to be an AI researcher and educator for creative writing. I don’t want authors left behind. :slight_smile:

This is going to be a very beginner’s share of a fine tune experience with only 10 examples in the data set. I’m sharing because as I tried to find answers to some of these questions, I couldn’t find them.

We made a 16,000 token long dataset of 10 outlines for novels of 10 different genres. The prompts had a System Prompt that defined this persona “Outlinemagedon AI” and used a simple prompt to turn a 2-3 sentence novel premise into an outline.

The goal was to make 3.5 16k, which typically writes outlines with very choppy sentences and strict formatting of roman numeral headers and capital letters sub items, instead write in paragraph from like GPT 4 does in simple formatting.

It was a success! We were stunned! Settings were temperature .7, top p .7 and presence penalty 1. I will put the answers at the bottom of the post what sample is what if you want to blind evaluate yourself:

https://shy-jackrabbit-e9e.notion.site/Comparison-1-Outlines-b280702d97ea4b26a503d27df0612995?pvs=4

• Even though we only had 10 samples and really moved the needle, each sample was 1200-1600 tokens long between system, user, assistant.
  • The Future Fiction Academy (a school I run for authors) all agreed that Sample A, was superior in both length and specificity.
  • We are all excited to push the limits more on smaller datasets that help GPT 3.5 16k Turbo write longer and better fiction prose from a variety of prompting, including longer “mega prompting” or context stuffing, in the first pass so we don’t have to do so many chains of “write it longer.”

Our methodology was:

• Use System, User, prompts to make the 10 outlines using 3.5 16k. We used this as a baseline for comparison.