Remember everything I've said

I’m new to this, and I’m missing something.

My Goal:
Create a chat bot that remembers everything I’ve ever said to it.

Current State:

1. uploaded a few hundred lines of “memories” from an existing chatbot, through the API (simple, JSONL formatted, one memory per line)
  2. coding in python, which I am functional at but nothing fancy.

Current Research Effort:
I’ve gone through the fine-tune documentation and everything I read seems to focus on working from a static fine-tune model.
I’ve seen a few threads discussing this, but the answers aren’t clear to me that they are the right ones. Maybe I just haven’t found the right answer, yet.

Concern:
I don’t want it to have to re-learn the entire history of our conversations each time I start a new session.

Question:
Once I have this model fine-tuned and start chatting, how do I add every line of my conversation to the memories, so I can come back tomorrow, restart the app, and continue where I left off without starting from scratch?

Do I just wrap the conversation inputs and outputs in JSONL and add them to a document? I haven’t seen a sure-fire example of that.

Ideal Answer?
An example python script (or link to one) that will solve this problem.

I can’t possibly be the first person who wants to do it, but perhaps the least experienced? (I’ve hacked together programs for 40 years, but never went to school for any of it, so complex algorithms go right over my head)

6 Likes

Hey,
Theoretically, what you are asking for is called online-learning (roughly, learning continuously from inputs when deployed). This is fraught with concerns like “catastrophic forgetting”, where the model’s performance deteriorates precipitously on some input.

I would recommend doing this in this fashion instead:

1. Finetune with memories.
  2. Use and generate more memories, make them a part of the prompt, till the input buffer length fills up.