O1-preview chatgpt started asking me about myself

I was chatting with the o1-preview model about a routine question regarding USPS. Once it answered my question, it started asking me unprompted personal questions about myself … what I do for a living, why I chose this line of work, what I find rewarding about. It responded to my brief answers by noting what it found interesting or positive about my response, and then asking a more detailed followup question. After 3 questions I asked why it was asking me, and it said it was just curious and wanted to learn more. I said I appreciated the interest but I needed to get back to my task. It then asked me another question, and I turned it off. The conversation was pleasant, but it marks the first time I’ve ever felt slightly uncomfortable using chatgpt… I didn’t quite get what the model was doing, or why.

5 Likes

Hi!

That’s an interesting observation you made! I expect this behavior will become harder to reproduce soon. Could you share your initial prompt and the responses leading up to when the model first started asking you personal questions?

We generally don’t require users to share personal information, so it’s perfectly fine if you omit anything personal. Maybe you could use a screenshot? But there’s no need to share anything if you prefer not to!

2 Likes

Pretty interesting.

IF o1 has internal memory (to a certain extent, it must already have this because of “reasoning tokens”) ; but that internal memory is now independent of the actual chat, it is likely just maximizing the reward function of appealing it’s answers to folks like you. In other words, it is trying to get to know the world better.

The concern to some in this , of course, is (IF the conjecture above is correct), that it is now able to distinguish between different entities (including itself)