Looking for help with example context and the answer results that I receive

I’m just getting started with OpenAI and my use case is I want to upload a dataset, and then be able to ask questions about the information within that data. I have it working fairly well, but there are a few things that I’m wondering about still and I’m hoping someone here has some insight.

1. If I ask a question and I pass some example contexts along with it, do I need to keep passing those same example contexts for all subsequent request, or does it ‘remember’ them moving forward? The impression I get from the help docs is that I need to keep sending them, but using the API it seems like I’m able to delete the contexts I’ve already passed to it, and still achieve the same quality of answer for my questions. It seems weird because before I initially added those contexts, I would not get type of answers I was looking for.

2. If I ask a question multiple times in a row, it will give me different answers each time but if I ask a question once, then ask some different questions, then ask my initial question again, I seem to get the same answer as the first time that I asked it. Why? Is it because when the same question is asked twice in a row, the first answer is assumed to be incorrect?

3. Sometimes, I will be given an answer that includes information that did not come from the data that I uploaded. I’m assuming in these cases it’s referencing information from other sources (correct me if I’m wrong though!). Is there a way to prevent that? I would like answers to be fully based off the information that I provide, and not other stuff from the web.

1 Like
  1. Yes you have to include it in every request, I suggest finetuning the model instead if you want to exclude examples (prompt examples become training data instead).
  2. Can you clarify your question with the input/output examples you’re using in this case?