Iterated inner-voice: GPT-4 as a subcomponent of a general AI system

This has not yet grown into an official app or project… but I have an idea.

I have been working with GPT-4 quite a bit in recent weeks. Specifically, I am a professional C++ developer and I am seeing what it can do along those lines.

Very roughly put, I see that GPT-4 is a bit overly … “agreeable”. If I ask it to do something in C++ or ask if it can be done, it will almost always say “Yes. We can absolutely do that.” and then rattle off a superficially plausible answer that, well, doesn’t compile.

I find myself playing the role of ChatGPTs missing inner-dialogue.

This is ChatGPT now: “Here’s the first thought that comes to mind…”

And here’s the inner-dialogue common to human thought that’s missing: “Am I certain about this? Can I prove it? What is that proof?”

The programmer in me sees the modularity of this. The closed-loop iteration.

ChatGPT seems to be almost analogous to the memory recall “module” of the human thought process. And in my interactions with it, in trying to guide it to a correct answer, I am playing the role of its nonexistent inner-voice.

So why don’t we automate that inner voice? I’ve found that even generic challenges from me improve ChatGPTs response substantially: “Are you certain of that? Can you prove it from the relevant standards?”

And, specific to programming, I can see a lot of value in forming a closed-loop between the code suggestions from ChatGPT and an actual compiler. After all, I have been manually simulating this interaction myself: “You suggested this code. The compiler gave me this error.”

If we automated most of those “This doesn’t work.” or “Can you prove it?” interactions … the resulting output of “ChatGPT + Closed-Loop Antagonist” would look a lot more… intelligent.

There have been several attempts along that line for coding, one of the best is Wolverine: GitHub - biobootloader/wolverine

1 Like