If a conversation is not deleted, can ChatGPT-4 continuously learn and maintain the conversation state?

As a beginner, I have a question for everyone: Does ChatGPT-4 forget the context if the conversation is closed or left idle for a long period, meaning it can’t maintain the state of the conversation? I want ChatGPT-4 to learn legal knowledge, and in one conversation, provide it with a vast amount of legal material over a long period. Can ChatGPT-4 remember the previous legal material every time I open it, i.e., maintain the conversation state? If not, how can I make ChatGPT-4 remember previous conversations?
Additionally, if I do not delete a conversation and continuously feed ChatGPT-4 a large amount of legal information within that same conversation, can ChatGPT-4 achieve self-learning? That is, can it become increasingly proficient in legal matters, or regardless of how much information I provide, will ChatGPT-4 not improve?

In ChatGPT, you can resume a conversation and it will all be there for you to see and scroll back in your browser window. You can continue right where you left off.

However, there is a limited amount of that conversation that can actually be provided to the AI model with each question, and OpenAI’s conversation management technology limits that to “what were we just talking about” instead of “here’s everything about my legal firm”.

So no, it doesn’t “learn”, it gets some previous chat to provide the illusion of memory and to stay on topic.

2 Likes

So you’re saying that even ChatGPT-4 is only answering the current question at hand, right? I wanted it to build a legal database and learn on its own, but that essentially can’t be achieved, correct?