How to create a correct JSONL for training

Hi,
I’m new with OpenAI.
I would like to instruct the AI (gpt-35-turbo) to generate a simple JSON structure that will contain, for example, 3 fields and their value.
The user has to list those fields (for example brand, color, size) in this way:
brand brand1, color red, size big
or
brand is brand1, color is red, size is big
or
color red, brand is brand1, size is big
and so on…
the response of the AI to the request should be a JSON structure, for example
{
“brand”: “brand1”,
“color”:“red”,
“size”:“big”
}

I know that to train a GPT I should create a JSONL but what is not clear is the content that I should write in it.
In my example, should the content be the following?

{“prompt”: “brand”, “completion”: “brand”}
{“prompt”: “brand is”, “completion”: “brand”}
{“prompt”: “color”, “completion”: “color”}
{“prompt”: “color is”, “completion”: “color”}
{“prompt”: “size”, “completion”: “size”}
{“prompt”: “size is”, “completion”: “size”}

With such file, what will the user have to write (as request to the AI) to obtain the JSON structure with the 3 fields above?
Thank you, regards.

Roberto

Hi and welcome to the Forum!

Can I double check what the purpose of your fine-tuning is? You want the model to consistently respond in a JSON format based on a user’s information about brand, color and size?

If so, have you tried achieving the same with just conventional prompting technqiues?

As regards your training set. If you do decide to go down the path of fine-tuning, you’d simply use one full user message as prompt and the JSON in the desired format as output. So the sentence " brand1, color red, size big" would constitute one prompt or one user message. The JSON in full with the keys would then constitute the completions or assistant message.

Details on the specific conventions for the training file format depending on the model you would like to use (GPT 3.5 versus one of the older models) are available here.