How many assistants and threads for a user in my web app?

Hello,

I’m kind of new to the assistants API. and how they work. I’m building a meal planner web app where i take the user data communicate with the assistant API i built to generate a An array with the meal plans. However i’m a bit confused about how to manage assistants and threads. From my understanding, Threads holds the conversation context between a user an the assistant. So does it mean:

• That i create one assistant in my open api playground and i interact with it for each user data submission? and to differentiate between the users i create a thread for each one of them since this what threads are meant for ?

OR

1. Duplicate the same assistant config for each user and create a thread for each new conversation?

Please note that except for the meal plan generation there won’t be much interaction with the assistant from the user beside for example asking for meal regeneration for example.

Thanks again !

There are several other considerations to keep in mind besides just assistants and threads. However let’s get some of the elementary questions out of the way.

R1. You should create one assistant and use it to interact with the user through one thread per user.

Some Other Key Considerations

• Consistency of Assistant’s response
    You should not expect that the assistant created out of AssistantAPI will have consistent reponse currently. This is because the beta version of AssistantAPI does not provide access to temparature and top_p needed to make response somewhat deterministic. See here (openairetro/examples/temparature at main · icdev2dev/openairetro · GitHub) for an alternative if consistency is important.
  • Evolution of Assistant
    The assistant is likely not static and it may (should) change with the input from the users. How you intend to do this is upto you. I will have a example of how this could be potentially be done in an upcoming post.
  • Listing of Threads