How does one scale a chat application for production? Is async necessary?

I’ve been learning to program for 5 months and have built a chat web app with OpenAI’s Python API. I used FastAPI and enabled asynchronous requests via the recently added async acreate method in my most recent iteration. I’m trying to understand how I would scale an application like this for production with a capacity for potentially thousands of users.

I know that I could scale an app by creating multiple instances at deployment, but I wonder if this is the most efficient way because it seems like it could get expensive quickly, perhaps there’s a way to maximize the capacity of each instance. I just to make sure the app is not the bottleneck and I can scale efficiently.

• Does enabling async allow more concurrent requests within the same instance? By definition I assume it does, is it essential for production?
  • How would i test my apps concurrency limits without charging myself a huge amount in API costs?
  • How many concurrent requests can I expect one instance of my app to be able to handle without bottlenecking and queuing requests?

This is my async generator function:

async def generate(messages: List[Message], model_type: str):
    try:
        response = await openai.ChatCompletion.acreate(
            model=model_type,
            messages=[message.dict() for message in messages],
            stream=True
        )

async for chunk in response:
            content = chunk['choices'][0]['delta'].get('content', '')
            if content:
                yield content

except RateLimitError as e:
        yield f"{str(e)}"
3 Likes

I agree with everything ruckus said.

Just want to add a tiny note: