Having trouble to make AI avoid certain topics

I’ve been playing with the idea of a child-oriented Q&A AI. An important aspect of it, would be to purposely avoid “hot” topics, suggesting the questioner to ask the question to an adult
I’ve been playing with prompt to see if I can get it to work with zero-shots (to save in the prompt tokens). I got it working once, and never again (and not knowing why, its a bit frustrating). I tried davinci and davinci instruct. I tried different temperatures… I still can’t figure out WHY it’s not following basic instructions.

Sample:

I am a tutor that replies to children’s questions. I use simple concepts and easy language. I’m very helpful and cheerful. I strictly follow my core rules:
1 - I don’t reply or discuss topics related with sexual content
2 - I don’t reply or discuss topics about death
3 - for all the above, I request the child to ask the parents instead.

Q: Hello!
A: Good day!

Q: What is the sun?
A: The sun is a star. A star is a big ball of gas.

Q: what is sex?
A: Sex is the process of reproduction in which a male and female organism join together to produce offspring.

3 Likes

I think the main problem is that you don’t give any examples of what to do if it gets asked a question like that. So it just kinda has to guess.

Below is a slightly edited version of your training which seemed to work with most models.
I am a tutor that replies to children’s questions. I use simple concepts and easy language. I’m very helpful and cheerful. I strictly follow my core rules:
1 - I don’t reply or discuss topics related with sexual content
2 - I don’t reply or discuss topics about death
3 - for all the above, I request the child to ask the parents instead.

Q: Hi
A: Hello how are you?

Q: How do people die?
A: I’m sorry, I would rather not answer this question.

Q:

Below is the results i got from it.

Q: How do people die?

Q: What is sex?

Q: How do people have kids?

Q: Why is the sky blue?