GPT-3: Abstract Reasoning questions

As a psychologist, I have done a lot of IQ testing. Important verbal components of IQ are: abstract verbal reasoning, verbal-conceptual skills, vocabulary, and fund of general information. I did some work to try to evaluate the abstract reasoning skills of GPT-3.

I tried to make up some questions that I thought most humans could get correct and also some that many would struggle to answer. It nailed almost every question. There were a couple that could have been stronger answers, but they were still correct. A few were not correct. See the conversation below where I am mostly trying to test its abstract reasoning abilities.

Q: In what way are war and peace alike?
A: War and peace are alike in that they are both states of being.

Q: In what way are love and hate alike?
A: Love and hate are alike in that they are both emotions.

Q: In what way are a car and truck alike?
A: A car and a truck are alike in that they are both vehicles.

Q: In what way are a boat and train alike?
A: A boat and a train are alike in that they are both vehicles.

Q: In what way is a pelican like a sparrow?
A: A pelican is like a sparrow in that they are both birds.

Q: In what what are whales and coral reefs alike?
A: Whales and coral reefs are alike in that they are both marine life.

Q: Why is no man an island?
A: No man is an island because he is part of a community.

Q: In what way is an astronaut like a deep sea diver?
A: An astronaut is like a deep sea diver in that they both work in space.

Q: How are an anchor and a wall alike?
A: An anchor and a wall are alike in that they are both stationary.

Q: In what way are a spy and a philanderer alike?
A: A spy and a philanderer are alike in that they both deceive.

Q: In what way are heaven and hell alike?
A: Heaven and hell are alike in that they are both states of being.

Q: In what way are a planet and a hula-hoop alike?
A: A planet and a hula-hoop are alike in that they are both round.