Getting 401 error when trying to create node.js local chat bot

I cant figure it out. I’ve been trying to figure it out all day but I keep getting an error. It says something wrong with my API or something.

I’ve created an env file
Im pretty sure everything in the proper directories.

Below is my server.js file. Please help!

Please post your code as text and not as a screenshot so we can more easily read the code and help you @chris5 Post using Markdown with triple backticks, like this:

```
# your formatted coded here
```

Thanks so much.

:slight_smile:

@ruby_coder sorry I’m new to this stuff!
‘’’
const express = require(‘express’);
const { json } = require(‘express’);
require(‘dotenv’).config();

const app = express();
const port = 3000;

app.use(express.static(__dirname + ‘/public’));
app.use(json());

app.post(‘/generate_response’, async (req, res) => {
const conversation_history = req.body.conversation_history;
console.log(‘Received conversation history:’, conversation_history);
const response = await generate_response(conversation_history);
res.send(response);
});

app.listen(port, () => {
console.log(Modpod app listening at http://localhost:${port});
});

async function generate_response(conversation_history) {
try {
const got = await import(‘got’);
const url = ‘https://api.openai.com/v1/engines/gpt-3.5-turbo/completions’;
const messages = conversation_history.map((msg) => ({ role: msg.role, content: msg.content }));
const params = {
model: ‘gpt-3.5-turbo’,
max_tokens: 150,
temperature: 0.7,
};
const headers = {
‘Content-Type’: ‘application/json’,
‘Authorization’: Bearer ${process.env.OPENAI_API_KEY},
};

const response = await got.default.post(url, { json: params, headers: headers }).json();
return response.choices[0].message.content;

} catch (error) {
console.error(‘Error while generating response:’, error);
return ‘An error occurred while generating a response. Please try again.’;
}
}
‘’’

OK, I understand @chris5