Fine tuning openAI to my codebase

I am relatively new to fine tuning.

We are a software company with 100s of files of php, javascript code for our software. Copilot is great but I want to go few steps further. Would it possible to fine tune openAI model so it understands our code better to be able to fix bugs and add features? has anyone done this? Whats involved?

4 Likes

When you find yourself in that rare air of asking a question on coding forums that seems to either have never been asked, or nobody recommending an answer, you know you are in a special probability space. I too would like to do exactly what you are describing, with the idea that the openai interface I’m building (for me), will have a good handle on my current code base, and where I’m looking to take it. It is a task that is perfectly suited for one or two example tutorials. Hello super-devs, please consider throwing us an example of fine-tuning Codex with a proprietary code base. Please, pretty-please!, with a cherry on top.

2 Likes

I don’t think finetuning is the answer for this. I have worked on an AI that builds its own source code and expands its features. My take would be that to accomplish something as complex as this, you would need the AI to:

1. read through all the source code
  2. generate an understanding of all the classes, methods and the way they are connected and depend on each other
  3. have a general understanding of what the app is about and how it works

then you could make requests for new features or changes, but the challenge is how to select and pass on the required information collected in the previous steps. It would have to be a chain of multiple prompts, allowing the AI to expand research on certain parts (when needed), coming up with conclusions and proceeding on its main task.

3 Likes