Finding Trending News Items in an Archive of Content

question about the openAI API. I have written a large integration for it that relies totally on the chat completions endpoint. It’s basically a homeless man’s version of chatGPT, but there with you as you are writing a blog post in wordpress.
It works well and has some nice features and has some complexity.

So I have some experience with the api.

What I want to do now is have the api find “gems” from my blog archives: old posts that are suddenly relevant due to recent news trends.

To tell it about recent news trends, I’ll first make an http call to the google trends rss feed and pass the news items as a JSON array to the api.

What I’m less sure about is how to expose, say, my 300 blog posts to the api. it would be absurd to send that whole archive in every api call. surely there’s a way to “store” it somehow in my openAI account?

I’m not sure. Reading the API docs, I don’t see how I’d do this.

I asked the API itself how to do this and it balked:

As of my last update in early 2023, OpenAI's API doesn't directly provide a feature to store or index external data, such as a collection of blog posts, within an user's account for continuous access or querying. Therefore, if you're looking to leverage OpenAI to search or analyze your blog archives based on recent trends or keywords, you would have to implement a workaround or an external solution to manage the search within your blog content effectively.

Here's a potential approach you could consider:

### External Indexing and Search