Extract reference list from a scientific publication through RAG

I am quite new to RAG implementations. What I am trying to is get a body text of a scientific publication and split it into chunks and index them. Then create a retrieval and try to get all references showing up under references section. Here is my code (though in the code below I use mistral, I also could not get full list when using gpt models):

from llama_index.core import SimpleDirectoryReader, VectorStoreIndex
from llama_index.core import Settings

from llama_index.llms.mistralai import MistralAI
from llama_index.embeddings.mistralai import MistralAIEmbedding

llm = MistralAI(api_key=mistral_api_key,model="mistral-small")
embed_model = MistralAIEmbedding(model_name='mistral-embed', api_key=mistral_api_key)

Settings.llm = llm
Settings.embed_model = embed_model

# maximum input size to the LLM
Settings.context_window = 4096

# number of tokens to leave room for the LLM to generate
Settings.num_output = 5000

# Settings.chunk_size = 512
# Settings.chunk_overlap = 50

# the text is coming from the link: https://www.mdpi.com/2227-7390/9/23/3034
documents = SimpleDirectoryReader("/kaggle/input/rag-sample/").load_data()
index = VectorStoreIndex.from_documents(documents)
query_engine = index.as_query_engine()

from llama_index.core.retrievers import VectorIndexRetriever
retriever = VectorIndexRetriever(
    index=index,
    similarity_top_k=5,
)

from llama_index.core import PromptTemplate

qa_prompt = PromptTemplate(
    """\
Context information is below.
---------------------
{context_str}
---------------------
Given the context information and not prior knowledge, answer the query.
Query: {query_str}
Answer: \
"""
)

query_str = (
    "list all the references mentioned under the references section"
)

retrieved_nodes = retriever.retrieve(query_str)

def generate_response(retrieved_nodes, query_str, qa_prompt, llm):
    context_str = "\n\n".join([r.get_content() for r in retrieved_nodes])